One of the roles of the North Dakota Indian Affairs Commission is to keep the public informed about current laws and legislative issues that impact Indian country.  Throughout the upcoming legislative session, we track various bills and committees to help keep you informed.  Please contact our office if you would like more information regarding legislative issues in North Dakota.

"State of the Tribal State Relationship" address

A 'State of the Tribal State Relationship' Address is delivered every two years by a Tribal Chairperson to a joint session of the ND Legislative Assembly. 

Please visit our Audio & Video webpage to listen to an archive of past 'State of the Relationship' addresses.

Tribal and State Relations Committee

In 2005 the 59th North Dakota Legislative Assembly passed HB 1524 establishing the Tribal and State Relations Committee for the 2005-07 interim (click here for background memorandum).  The North Dakota Legislative Assembly has reestablished the committee in 2007, 2009, 2011, and in 2013.



(7 members)

Study tribal-state issues, including government-to-government relations, human services, education, corrections, and issues related to the promotion of economic development (NDCC § 54-35-23, until August 1,2013) 

Study whether members of the North Dakota Tribal Governments' Task Force should be voting members of the committee (NDCC § 54-35-23) 

Receive report from the Governor describing the negotiations and terms of any agreement between the Governor and the Three Affiliated Tribes of the Fort Berthold Reservation relating to taxation and regulation of oil and gas exploration and production within the boundaries of the Fort Berthold Reservation and thereafter receive biennial reports describing the agreement's implementation and any difficulties in its implementation (NDCC § 57-51.2-04) 

Chairman:  Representative Dennis Johnson 

Vice Chairman:  Senator Oley Larsen

Legislative Council Staff:  Vonette J. Richter


Johnson, Dennis - District 15

Nelson, Marvin E. - District 9 

Trottier, Wayne - District 19 


Larsen, Oley - District 3

Oehlke, Dave - District 15

Warner, John M. - District 4