NDIAC Mission Statement (excerpts from ND Century Code 54-36) 
(click here for a complete copy of ND Century Code 54-36 - Indian Affairs Commission)

The Indian affairs commission may assist and mobilize the support of state and federal agencies in assisting Indian individuals and groups in North Dakota, especially the five tribal councils, as the Indian individuals and tribal councils seek to develop their own goals, project plans for achieving those goals, and implement those plans. The commission may accept gifts, grants, donations, and services from any source which are appropriated on a continuing basis for the purposes of the commission. The commission's duties are to:

1.  Investigate any phase of Indian affairs and to assemble and make available the facts needed by tribal, state, and federal agencies to work effectively together.

2.  Assist tribal, state, and federal agencies in developing programs whereby Indian citizens may achieve more adequate standards of living.

3.  Assist tribal groups in developing increasingly effective institutions of self-government.

4.  Work for greater understanding and improved relationships between Indians and non-Indians.

5.  Seek increased participation by Indian citizens in local and state affairs.

6. Confer with and coordinate officials and agencies of other governmental units and congressional committees with regard to Indian needs and goals.

7.  Encourage and propose agreements and accords between federal, state, and local agencies and the several tribal governments, and, pursuant to chapter 54-40.2, to assist in monitoring and negotiating agreements and accords when asked by an affected tribe.

The North Dakota Indian affairs commission consists of the governor, three members appointed by the governor from the state at large, two of whom must be of Indian descent, must be enrolled members of a tribe, and must be current voting residents of the state, and the chairperson, or the chairperson's designee, of the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe; the Spirit Lake Nation; the Three Affiliated Tribes of the Fort Berthold Reservation; the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians; and the Sisseton-Wahpeton Oyate of the Lake Traverse Reservation. The governor is the chairperson of the commission. The commission shall meet quarterly or as otherwise agreed. Members of the commission or the chairperson's designee are entitled to receive mileage and expenses for attending each meeting as are allowed other state officers.